How to Change my Wordpress ThemeChanging my Wordpress theme
If I change my WordPress theme, what happens?
Modifying your WordPress theme can be a frightening prospect if you have already spent a great deal of your own efforts and money to build your website - what if you click the badge and your website turns to dirt? Here is a guideline on what will change about your site and what won't when you change topics.
It can be more or less difficult to make your own experiences according to the particular topics you switch between. As a general guideline, everything that is a central WordPress function is preserved, and all plug-ins and their functions are retained, but everything that is topic-specific will no longer be available to you.
Any pages and contributions you have made will remain. Page and article are key WordPress functions, so they are always available. However, if your design has user-defined mail items for things like a portfolio or a slider - if you change to another design, that contents is gone.
This is the default set of entries that WordPress will always have. This new design may have different areas for your submenus and will have them marked differently so that your submenu is not sure where it should appear. However, you will need to reassign them to the new side bars of your theme on the widget display.
As with the menu, your new design may have different areas of widgets with different titles, so the ones you had before will most likely end up at the bottom in inactive ones. That' s the case in about 90% of cases, but I came across topics they don't put in the Inactive section, so you need to recall what kind of Widgets you used.
Before you change the topics, you should make a notice of which widgets you are using and in which order you have grouped them. If your theme has generated custom Widgets for you, in this case these are gone. You need to find plug-ins that deliver the functionality you've been losing, unless the new design provides its own sets of similarly designed Widget.
Everything you have reconfigured in your Theme Option area must be reconfigured. Once you've added it to the Libraries, it will still be there, but you still have to tell the new topic where to find it. Many topics offer a checkbox that you can insert into extra scripting, the most frequent of which is your Google Analytics tracker key.
When this is the way you setup your Google Analytics tracker, it will be dropped when you change motifs. It can be added again with a plug-in, or maybe your new design offers a similar area where you can insert the source into. In principle, everything you have done in the topic option area must be re-configured in the new topic option area.
Today, many designs offer a variety of shortcuts that make it easy to insert button, column, and other unusual styles into your existing context. A few of the more courageous of you may have changed their design by pasting some coding into function files. This is a topic-specific script, so if there's something you've added there that you still need, you'll need to copy/paste the coding into functions.php of your new design.
When you follow along here, you can find out that there are a number of things now that do topics that can be extreme comfortable until you want to change, and then it's a hurt in YouWhat. While a design can be filled with many things, it is actually better to get those things through plug-ins than through the design itself, because plug-ins are available regardless of which design you use.
A number of theme designers are aware of this. WooThemes, for example, has some functions that they have evolved over the years, such as user-defined side bars, a testimonial manager, and more. Those feature were previously incorporated into their designs, but lately they have divided them into free plug-ins. That means not only can you use these functions with any theme, even if it's not a WooTheme, but if you change the theme, you won't loose anything really nice.
That is the way intelligent WordPress designers move around. The topic items you have configured are saved in the data base. So, if you change from one theme to another and then choose to return to the source, your old preferences should be retained so you don't have to go through a complete reconfiguration.
So, if you don't want your audience to see a real-time experience of you changing topics, you can consider setting your site to service status while playing around with things. To do this, you can use a plug-in like Ultimate Coming Soon.
It would also be good practise to test the theme selector on a sand-box site first.