Time Zones


Move your mouse over the map to highlight time zones. Would you like your team to follow the time closely? There are nine standard time zones in the United States.

spent time in the United States

The time in the United States is legally subdivided into nine default time zones that cover the states and their property, with most of the United States monitoring light savings time (summer time) for approximately the vernal, summer, and autumn month. Time zones and the adherence to night time are limited by the Ministry of Transport.

Formal and high-precision timing watchmakers are provided by two government agencies: the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and its armed equivalent, the United States Naval Observatory (USNO). This is the combined timezone and summer time rule and timing service setting that defines statutory civilian time for any U.S. site at any given time.

Before adopting four default time zones for the United States, many municipalities clocked at midday as the sun was passing through their respective meridians, which were precorrected for the temporal equivalent on the day of observations to calculate the mean time of the day. Lunchtime was at different points in time, but time differentials between remote places were hardly perceptible before the nineteenth centuries, as long travelling periods and the absence of immediate long-distance communication were recorded before the emergence of the wire.

The GMT was replaced by Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) as the civilian global time code in 1960, when the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) was formalised by the ICRC. Within about 1 second, it is the mean sun time at 0°. 3 ] Summer time is not taken into account.

He is one of several close descendants of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Default time zones in the United States are currently determined at the U.S. federation by Act 15 USC §260. Swiss legislation also lays down transitional periods and deadlines at which summer time shall be deemed to occur.

Finally, it is up to the Minister of Transport, in consultation with the Member States, to decide which areas comply with which time zone and whether they comply with summer time. 5 ] Since 9 August 2007, the default time zones have been specified in the form of hours per day offset from ATC.

Previously, they were predicated on mean sun time at several sun channels 15 degrees westward of Greenwich (GMT). The full-time zones below are the only officially used full-time zones; shortcuts are commonly used convention and are copied elsewhere in the word for different time zones. There are nine default time zones in the United States.

Have a look at the default time zones here. The time zones of the neighboring United States are from east to west: Default easterly time zone: Area R, which includes approximately the Atlantic coastal states and the Ohio Valley's easterly two-thirds. This is the default timezone:

Area S, which includes approximately the Gulf Coastline, the Mississippi Valley and the Great Plains. Default time of the mountain: Area T, which includes approximately the states and parts of states including the Rocky Mountains. Pacific Default Time Zone: U region comprising approximately the Pacific coastal states as well as Nevada and the Idaho Panorama.

Alaska' default time zone: Area V (AKST; UTC-09:00; Area V) comprising most of the State of Alaska. This is the Hawaii-Aleutian default time zone: UTC-10:00; W Zone), which encompasses Hawaii and most of the length of the Aleutian Chains (west of 169°30?W). Samoa default time zones (SST; UTC-11:00; X Zone), which include American Samoa.

Chamorro default time zone: Area K) comprising Guam and the northern Mariana Islands. This is the default timezone for the Atlantic: Area Q) comprising Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. A few smaller remote islands of the United States lie outside the time zones delineated by 15 U.S.C. 260 and coexist in water bodies delineated by navigational time.

UTC±00:00) when they are on these isles. follows the boundary between Alabama (west) and Georgia (east), although Phenix City, Alabama and some neighboring cities monitor the east time inofficially. splits the Florida Panhandle along the Apalachicola River and the Intracoastal Waterway east of Tallahassee, Florida. follows the Salmon River west to the city of Riggins, where the Salmon River turns off northward.

Almost the entire northerly part of Idaho lies in the Pacific time zones, with the exception of the small bow described below. It is a strange circumstance that this northerly turn makes it possible to penetrate into a more western time zones by travelling eastwards over one of the salmon river crossings, turning eastwards and following the boundary between Idaho (north) and Nevada (south) along the latitude 42 to the north until the meridian 114.

In 041726 W. it turns southwards and follows the boundary between Nevada (west) and Utah (east), with the exception of the western boundary of Western Wendover, which separates it from the remainder of Nevada and forms part of the Mountain Time Zones. Jackpot, Nevada, just south of 42 degrees latitude and about 40 kilometers westward of the time zones southern curve, also unofficially observing Mountain Time, follows the boundary between California (West) and Arizona (East), mostly delineated by the Colorado River, to the boundary between the USA and Mexico.

From 2007 onwards, the Energy Industry Act of 2005 prolonged ( "Sommerzeit") by a further third year. As a reaction to the Uniform Time Act of 1966, each state in the United States has formally decided to implement one of two regulations throughout its territory: The majority use the default time for their zones (or zones in which a state is split between two zones), except for DST.

In 1986 and 2005, two changes have changed so that summer time will run from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November. Arianza and Hawaii use the default time all year round. However, in 2005, Indiana enacted a law that came into force on April 2, 2006, setting summer time for the whole state (see Time in Indiana).

Previously, Indiana formally used default time throughout the year, with the following exceptions: Those parts of Indiana that were on Central Time were watching summer time. Also some Indiana counties near Cincinnati and Louisville were on east time, but did (unofficially) watch DST. For more than a hundred watch towers in the United States, see Category: Watch Turrets in the United States.

Why do we have time zones? Bernard Guinot, "Solar Time, Statutory Time, Time of Use" Metrologica, August 2011 (Volume 48, Edition 4), pages 181-185. 15 U.S. Code Subchapter IX - TIME OF THE SANDARD.

Mehr zum Thema