Us Time Zones

We time zones

Eastern standard time zone: The local time is UTC plus the time zone offset for this location, e.g: Below are just a few major US cities whose current time is displayed. United States Time Zones Six default time zones for the United States and a 7th that will include Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands from 2010.

Railways introduced a default time in time zones in the United States and Canada on November 18, 1883. Previously, most municipalities used the sun's time, which was kept by a famous watch, such as one on a spire.

Once the railways were constructed to allow fast journeys over long distance, their effective operations demanded the standardisation of time in the zones. However, the March 19, 1918 Act, sometimes referred to as the Standards Time Act, introduced a standards time in time zones into US legislation. Default time also introduced summer time (summer time), which was abolished in 1919 but was reinstated during World War II national.

Under the Uniform Time Act of 1966, the data at which summer time begins and ends each year was standardized, but permitted exceptions to it locally. At first, the Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) had jurisdiction over time zones. The Congress has since delegated border control to the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), and borders are specified in the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49--Transportation, Subtitle A-- Office of the Secretary of Transportation, Part 71--Standard Time Zone Boundaries. DOT is a member of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

More information about the timezone histories in the United States is available on the Time Zones page of the U.S. Naval Observatory Astronomical Applications Department. United States Time Zones maps level shows the six default time zones for the United States and a 7th that includes Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

In addition, the areas in each area that do not monitor daylight saving time are displayed. In addition, explanatory information contains the name of the zones and the offsets to the Coordinated World Time (Greenwich Mean Time). Timezone limitations are up to date from 2010, but are changing.

Mehr zum Thema