Wordpress Upgrade DatabaseUpgrading Wordpress Database
Maybe you want to do this because you saw a notification at the top of your dashboard that a new version is available, because you were informed about some useful new features, or because a fix was made. Once you have made changes to these file, your changes will be forfeited.
Next thing you need to do is create a back-up of your database. Your contributions and pages are all stored in the database, so you will need a copy if for any reasons you need to make changes to your opinion after the upgrade and return. After checking that you are prepared to upgrade, that you have disabled your plug-ins, and that you have received your backups, it is your turn to get to work.
We have two ways of upgrading - the simplest is auto upgrading, which works for most users. When it doesn't work, or you simply want to be more practical, you can track the manually updated procedure. To start the automated upgrade, click on the button in the new release flag (if available) or go to Tools -> Upgrade (or Upgrade for release 3).
At least two criterias must be fulfilled for the automatic update to work: When more than one of the users has different installation executables (e.g. due to changes made by deletion and re-uploading of executables from different accounts), the executables must be group describable (e.g. 775 and 664 instead of the 755 and 644 defaults).
For more information, see the section about the File Privilege (some documents and directories need more restrictive privileges). It is known that the auto refresh fails if you are not using PHP5. When you see the error saying that the fix downloads the zipped version and then nothing else happens, it may be that you are not executing PHP5.
So if you cannot change to PHP5 and this issue may occur, use the manually updated below. Once you have adjusted the TwentyTen or TwentyEleven design, you should not use the auto-upgrade because it overwrites your changes - you should use a manually updated instead. As a result, the fail refresh error is removed.
Don't worry if the auto upgrade doesn't work for you! Simply try a simple manually updated version. FTP or your shell account to transfer the new wp-includes and wp-admin folders to your web hosting and overwrite old datas. Load the single data from the new file into your current wp-folder and overwrite them.
DON'T erase your current wp contents file. Don't erase any file or directories in your current wp-content repository (except the one that will be replaced by new files). As a result, the fail refresh error is removed. As a result, your database will be updated to be compliant with the latest source codes. When you have activated your changes to your system's system tray, if you empty the tray at this point, your changes will be displayed to your customers immediately (and if you don't, you may be baffled if you see the old release number in the page footer when you verify that the upgrade worked).
You might consider posting a blogs posting about the updates, reviewing the books or articles you've postponed, or just leaning back for a few seconds and let the word roll by. Now your upgrade is finished, so you can go in and reactivate your plugins. When something goes awry, the first thing you need to do is go through all the stages in our advanced upgrade brief.
Should you encounter a problem after the upgrade, you can always recover your image and substitute the file with a file from the earlier releases archiv.